Staff

Director & Coach

Todd Sloan | todd.sloan@gastongalaxy.com | Coach’s Philosophy

Todd Sloan is the director and coach at Gaston Galaxy. Graduate of UNCC with a BS in Computer Engineering, Todd is a Software engineer at Velocitor Solutions.

He started his coaching journey thru his children, head coaching all of their youth team sports at High 5 Sports thru Bethlehem Church.

Native to Charlotte, now local to south east Gastonia, Todd and his family love the game of volleyball. Playing adult competitive volleyball for a decade now, and coaching juniors for 6, it has become a dream and passion to establish a competitive juniors volleyball club in Gaston county.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV CAP I

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

USAV Junior Referee

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2020)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 13 Kelly, Galaxy 16 Todd

 

 

 

Coach

Alisa Bryson | Alisa.Bryson@gastongalaxy.com

Alisa is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

USAV Junior Referee

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2020)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 14 Bridget

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Mindy Townsend | mindy.townsend@gastongalaxy.com

Mindy is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2019)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 12 Kayla

 

 

 

 

Coach

Joe Lehman | joe.lehman@gastongalaxy.com

Joe is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

USAV Provisional Referee

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2019)

 

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 15 Joe

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Jennifer Allison | jennifer.allison@gastongalaxy.com

Jennifer is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy. Jennifer coached JV volleyball at East Lincoln High School this season.

2015-16 (NCCU): SOFTBALL: Was second on the team with 107.1 innings pitched … 2-13 record with an 5.81 ERA and 50 strikeouts … Wins against Maryland Eastern Shore and Appalachian State … Complete-game shutout with a season-high five strikeouts against UMES … Had four hits in limited at bats with four walks, three RBI, two runs scored and one double … Perfect fielding percentage on 49 chances VOLLEYBALL: Played in 16 matches and a total of 40 sets … Accumulated 22 kills, 15 blocks (3 solo, 12 assists) 11 digs and  three assists …  Season-high six kills and five block assists against Norfolk State for 8.5 points.

2014-15 (Louisburg): SOFTBALL: batted .348 with 37 RBI, 32 runs, 11 doubles, one triple and one home run … 2-2 record, four saves, 3.24 ERA and 28 strikeouts pitching 45.1 innings … VOLLEYBALL: Played in 19 of 21 volleyball matches for the Hurricanes … totaled 67 kills, 42 digs, 25 blocks, six aces and two assists … averaged 3.19 kills and 1.19 blocks per set …

2013-14 (Louisburg): Only played softball for the Hurricanes as a freshman … on the mound, she had an 8-7 records, one save, 4.04 ERA and 50 strikeouts in 85 innings of work … batted .384 with 22 RBI, 17 runs, five doubles and one home run

HIGH SCHOOL: Volleyball captain at East Lincoln High School … softball first team all-region … Female Athlete of the Year

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2020)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 14 Billy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Bridget Atkinson | bridget.atkinson@gastongalaxy.com

Bridget is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy. Ashley is from Gastonia, NC. She played college volleyball at Ferrum College as a DS. Bridget played high school volleyball at Highland School of Tech. She is the current varsity coach at South Point high school.

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 14 Bridget

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Robbie Raby | robbie.raby@gastongalaxy.com

Robbie is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

NFHS (National Federation of High Schools) Volleyball

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2019)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 16 Todd

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Billy Downey | billy.downey@gastongalaxy.com

Billy Downey is a coach at Gaston Galaxy. Graduate of UNCC with a major in Criminal Justice and minor in Biology. He is a Captain at the Gaston County Police.

Billy started his coaching baseball through a local optimist club 20 years ago. He coached travel fastpitch softball for 7 years. Currently coaches high school softball and volleyball at Piedmont Community Charter School.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

NFHS (National Federation of High Schools) Volleyball

Concussion Protocol

First Aid

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2020)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 14 Billy

 

 

 

 

Coach

Leigh Kiser | leigh.kiser@gastongalaxy.com

Leigh is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy. Leigh is a Science Teacher at Cherryville High School. She coaches Cherryville High School Varsity volleyball and Chavis Middle School volleyball. Coach Leigh has also coached 2 seasons of club volleyball in Shelby NC.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

NFHS (National Federation of High Schools) Volleyball

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2019)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 15 Leigh

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Kayla Moss | kayla.moss@gastongalaxy.com

Kayla is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Current Certifications/BG Screening:

USAV IMPACT

USAV SafeSport

Carolina Region Background Screening (10/31/2020)

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 12 Kayla

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Kelly Inman | kelly.inman@gastongalaxy.com

Kelly is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 13 Kelly

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Dave Notaro | dave.notaro@gastongalaxy.com

Dave is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 15 Dave

 

 

 

Coach

Holy Armstrong | holy.armstrong@gastongalaxy.com

Holy is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 14 Billy

 

 

 

 

 

Coach

Kevin Truett | kevin.truett@gastongalaxy.com

Kevin is a coach for the Gaston Galaxy.

Nationality
usa United States
Current Team
Galaxy 15 Joe